Nearly One Year

So, I have become pretty neglectful of my website/blog /social media presence ever since I was landed my full-time gig. But, that’s OK with me. I’d rather be employed than obsessively blogging every day. Long story short, sorry internet. I hope to be back soon.

I am quickly coming up on one full year of being full-time with the City. I couldn’t be more grateful and happy about it, too.

I have done more at my job that I though there was to do. But, don’t get me wrong, there is still plenty of work to be done. While I came into this position with good knowledge of how to do things, there was definitely room to grow and learn, and that I did.

One thing I regret doing in college, not doing in college, is taking as many elective courses as I could. For example, I never though I would need to take “Reading & Writing for Broadcast,” because I didn’t want to be a new anchor. Well, here I am interviewing, transcribing, scripting and recording VO for news packages on our government access channel. Some skills I lacked, but am working on. I swear I’m getting better.

“Magazine Article Writing” was another class I regret not taking. Going into PR, I thought it would be more media pitches and press releases. How wrong could I have been. I am writing long-form articles every quarter for our magazine.

While it’s not a class that was offered, I do wish I would have taken more initiative learning about being a public information officer (PIO). I quickly came to learn that being a PIO means more than just writing a press release when the fire department responds to a major fire/emergency event. Media relations is another skill I am working on. So far, all of my media contacts have been pleasant.

Over the past several months, I have been working on reading my mountain of books (I might be losing). The first few I read were on crisis communications. Working as a public safety PIO, seems like it might be a good idea to brush up on my crisis communications skills. Luckily, I haven’t had to employ many of them, but when I do need to, I think I’ll be ready.

Now, don’t get me wrong. I had a great education by excellent professional teachers. They and my internships have all been great mentors. Starting school, I was set on working in a PR agency, not government communications. That all changed after my internship with the City.

In government communications, you really do have to be the jack of all trades. I suppose that could be true with most in-house communications departments, but I feel that even more so in government as we work with a wider audience with a much more limited budget and resources.

So far, I am elated with where I am in my career and look forward to continuing my work in the public sector.

Leave a Reply

